Mustang GT350 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am just curious if any of you purchased the factory add-on car cover. Is it simply a dust cover or does it provide weather protection? My garage is not yet complete and my ride is sitting out in the weather which kills me. If you have recommendations for a weather cover please share.

Thanks!
Doc

·
Registered
247 Posts
My $0.02....I have it and love it. No, I would not use it outside. Main reason? I know you guys don't know me from Adam, but I would consider myself an above average detailer. I have that eye for perfect paint and finding and fixing defects and such. Detailing is my 'thing'. I've been using the cover for several months now and with all the on-and-off, I have yet to find any marring or light scratching from it. However, I would not risk it flapping in any kind of wind. While the material has been great and will keep dust and maybe even light rain off the surface, I don't think it would fare as well in a full time outdoor environment. Any constant flapping around and I think you would start to see some light marring/swirling/scratching of the paint. There are better covers available for full time outdoor duty.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Agree the cover that comes with car works great as long as its either inside or in my case a carport. I used one on the 16 I had and now with the 17 I have and never any rubbing or scratching of paint. I do run a dustbuster over it every time before removing it so its not holding any grit when put back on even though that should be on the outside of cover.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I did not receive a cover... did the dealer supply it or did it come with the welcome kit?

I bought the CarsCover ultrashield black cover. Its fleeced lined and made to be outside (feels sturdy and like it would hold up well outside)

·
Registered
28 Posts