Mustang GT350 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Driving the car in the rain produces an interesting result the next time I start the car. The brakes behave as if they are locked and resist movement. The resistance is easy to overcome with additional power input but when the brakes release there is a definite noise. Once moving there are no more issues. Any ideas?

·
Registered
34 Posts
This happens to me after I wash my car. Not as bad since I changed to ceramic brake pads. If at all possible you should go for a quick ride to dry the rotors and pads and this will help.

·
Registered
33 Posts
This is pretty typical for any car with disc brakes.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I must confess that I am curious as to the cause. I have been driving cars with disc brakes since before 1969 and never experienced these symptoms. I have to believe that it is a function of brake pad material/rotor composition. If that is correct it would seem that Ford would know about it. The next time I get caught in the rain I will remember not to set the parking brake and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
34 Posts
It will happen even if you don't set the parking brake. I have never had this happen on any other vehicle that I have owned.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I must confess that I am curious as to the cause. I have been driving cars with disc brakes since before 1969 and never experienced these symptoms. I have to believe that it is a function of brake pad material/rotor composition. If that is correct it would seem that Ford would know about it. The next time I get caught in the rain I will remember not to set the parking brake and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for your input.
They just get a coating of rust which locks the pad to the rotor.

·
Registered
4 Posts